The Millennial Job Hunt

For the record, I hate being called a “Millennial.” It is always used in such a negative way and I think that kids born in the 2000’s should be considered millennials. But society has labeled me a millennial so I guess I have to embrace it.

Anyway, I’m a recent college graduate and I’m literally trying to find out where I belong. It felt just like yesterday my Kindergarten teacher asked us “What do you want to be when you grow up?” And now I’m “grown up” and I don’t know what to be. Like any other Asian American, I really wanted to be a doctor, specifically a general surgeon, until around 7th grade.

I always loved reading and I wasn’t exposed to jobs that could come from reading. My father told me one time when I was reading that there were companies that published the books. And say that again? I could work for these publishing companies? This epiphany happened right around the time I got my first laptop and the Internet was used for chatting with friends on AOL Instant Messaging (AIM). After some research, I found out an editor literally reads manuscripts and gives their feedback. Of course, I know it is much more than that but that’s the general gist of it. Suddenly my mind changed to reading for as a job and I could do that for the rest of my life. Goodbye medical school, much to my parents delight.

But no Kindergarten teacher could prepare my young mind for the troubles of the job market.

I’m only a few months out of college but I’ll admit it, I’ve had no interview. Only rejection emails. But I’m still chasing the dream of becoming an editor. So day after day, I search different publishing company websites and different job search engines. But my biggest woe with the job search is the fact that I can’t get more experience. Every job description for the entry-level positions say, “At least one year of experience.” My problem is, I can’t get more experience if someone doesn’t hire me! It’s impossible.

So at the this moment, I’m just sending out resumes right and left. I know I have to start at the bottom to get to the top. And I’m willing to work that low paying, entry level job. I’m willing to work hard. I’m willing to do what it takes. But you can’t specifically write that in your cover letter because you have to professional. I guess I kind of write it in my cover letter but I use different language.

Despite this hopeless feeling, I keep trying and I really want a job. I can’t wait to be independent, which I know sounds awful. Paying for my own bills? Having my own insurance? Maybe I should move back in with my parents? But no, I am looking forward to the independent life. And I think my parents would be happy. Until then, I am living, nay mooching, off of my older brother and his girlfriend as I job hunt. And I won’t let the rejection letters get me down.

Leave a Reply

