Spiderman Homecoming: The New Teen Comedy

Let me just preface this blog post to let you know that I’m not familiar with the comic book storyline of Spiderman. I only know the basics and I know a little bit from the cartoon. I also try my best not to include spoilers!

Last night, I saw Spiderman Homecoming and I was pleasantly surprised. I’m not huge on comic book hero movies but I also get suckered into it somehow. I do really enjoy the Guardians of the Galaxy but it’s my favorite guy from Parks and Recreation, a killer soundtrack, and great comedic moments featuring Groot. I guess riding off of my Wonder Woman high, I decided Spiderman Homecoming would be worth my while. It had the comedy and I do love the continuity from the Avengers franchise.

Now, I know this movie may seem like it is only supposed to be a super hero movie but it is so much more than that. It’s time for John Hughes to move over Jon Watts (Director) can move in along with the geniuses behind the screenplay: Jonathan Goldstein and John Francis Daley.

There were definitely the usual troupes of a super hero movie: wants to be the hero, keeps the identity a secret but his best friend knows, a low point in the movie, and a time when the hero rises.

But Spiderman Homecoming goes beyond these ups and downs. It transforms the narrative.

Even though I mentioned Guardians of the Galaxy as the more humorous franchise, Spiderman Homecoming definitely comes in second. I found my palms quite sweaty during suspenseful scenes, you know Spiderman saving his love interest and his final battle with the Vulcan. But I found myself laughing. A lot. There is so much comedy in this super hero movie.

tom-holland-spider-man-homecoming-221569-1280x0.jpg

Tom Holland as Spiderman

Tom Holland (Spiderman) brings a whole new life to Peter Parker with his acting and I think his voice is perfect for Spiderman. (Even though I think I still love Tobey Maguire as Spiderman! Sue me!) There are so many relatable moments in the movie and it made me think about high school all over again.

tobey-maguire-spider-man-image.jpg

Tobey Maguire as Spiderman 

To me, this is more of a teen comedy than an action/super hero movie. I do not mean that in a negative way at all. I just think it honestly reflects a changing culture and shows the humor of growing up… The protagonist just happens to have super powers. I know there was controversy that Spiderman/Peter Parker’s love interest, Liz (Laura Herrier), is an African-American woman but I think it was a great idea. I also love that Zendaya adds to the comedy and rawness of being in high school as Michelle. Not to mention appearances by Childish Gambino (AKA: Donald Glover) and Hannibal Buress in the movie. I also appreciated Peter Parker’s bully, Flash (Tony Revolori), who is of Guatemalan descent.

Of course, my favorite character HAS to be Spiderman’s “guy in the chair” (you’ll get the reference when you watch the movie) and best friend: Ned. He is played by Hawaii boy Jacob Batalon who is of Filipino descent. Of course, I am biased because I’m from Hawaii but hey you gotta support people from your hometown!

t4qdrfhawuhgvos2hkmm.jpg

Peter Parker (Tom Holland) and Ned (Jacob Batalon) in Spiderman Homecoming 

Any good teen comedy has something for the adults or older crowd. Don’t worry, Spiderman Homecoming definitely has something that draws in people of all ages.  Tomei plays May Parker and just like in My Cousin Vinny, she steals the show all the way until the end of the movie. I need to know how she still looks so good because although she is older, she still looks amazing. Also, Michael Keaton plays Adrian Toomes/Vulcan and he is the villain of this movie.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that Michael Keaton plays another bird because of his work on Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). I guess I have to mention that he was also one of the “Batmans,” too. But I think the Birdman/Vulcan connection is much stronger in this case. See below for Michael Keaton as Birdman and Vulcan, respectively:
michael-keaton-birdman-video-xlarge.jpg  NEaI8r1dKflEdb_3_b.jpg

If you’re still skeptical why I think this is a teen comedy than why even include a Ferris Bueller’s Day Off reference in the movie?! And if you still don’t believe me then check out this photo:

spider-man_homecoming_the_breakfast_club.jpg

This is the cast photo from Entertainment Weekly compared to The Breakfast Club. Obviously I’m not the only one that thinks this is reminiscent of John Hughes. 

 

Anyway, I think overall Spiderman Homecoming definitely stole my heart. It’s not up to the action standards of previously watched Wonder Woman but I think my inner feminist is showing when I say that. For me, I think super hero movies annoy me because there is not too much depth to them. We get the backstory and there’s someone they have to save (family, love interest, etc.) but I’m kind of a movie snob so I want more. There’s more to this movie because of the cultural pull it has created and the way it emotionally connects to the audience. To the extent of my research and discussion with a best friend that loves comic books, this Spiderman franchise seems to really capture the comic book Spiderman. And from what I remember, I think the humor from this movie is similar to the original cartoon. So, if you’re looking for a movie to make you laugh, reminisce, and get your palms a little sweaty… Spiderman Homecoming will do all of that for you.

Leave a Reply

