Trying to be Cruelty-Free

It’s hard to be female. Beyond the obvious reasons why it’s hard such as periods and childbirth, there is the hardest part: beauty standards. I could go on and on about how males have created the standards for women… But I’ll save that for another post. Right now, I’m just focusing on the fact that partially because of a society but mostly because I have an addictive personality, I just love make-up. I love beauty products. But I also love animals and bunnies.

Many beauty products are tested on poor animals such as dogs, cats, mice/rats, and bunnies. Most of the time I turn over a bottle of shampoo or a container of blush and see a small logo of a bunny. Upon more research, I found out that there are three types of bunnies from different organizations: Leaping Bunny, PETA, and Choose Cruelty-Free. I think after a while, I stopped checking for the logo or assumed certain trustworthy brands were cruelty free.

cruelty-free-bunny-logo-symbol.png

Source: http://www.crueltyfreekitty.com/cruelty-free-101/cruelty-free-bunny-logo/

Until I needed to find new shampoo.

I’m planning on coloring my hair, which means I need a new shampoo and conditioner to help lock in the color. I started to do some thorough research. I wanted something in my price range but nourished and protected my soon-to-be color. I read blogs, articles, and every review on shopping website’s. Finally I decided on Redken Color Extend. It is a pretty cheap option compared to other shampoos/conditioners that will actually delivered. During my final sweep of the product, I glanced in the Q&A section of this product’s page on Ulta’s website.

That’s when I saw a question and an answer I did not think of and did not like, respectively.

Q: “Is this shampoo cruelty-free?”

A: No.

The bunnies! I suddenly knew I did not want the shampoo. But it’s cheap. It’s on sale. It does not mean I necessarily agree with their methods. My moral compass swung into play and immediately slapped me across the face. I even asked my boyfriend how he felt about it and he thought it wasn’t worth the life of innocent animals for cheap but effective shampoo/conditioner.

I continued my search for another shampoo/conditioner. Each time I found one I liked, I made sure to Google, “Is [insert company name here] cruelty-free?” Sometimes I found that the companies weren’t cruelty-free. But most of the time the company was a branch of a bigger company and the bigger company wasn’t cruelty free. I started looking into my favorite make-up companies to see if there were bunnies being tested on at my expense. Luckily, all my staple make-up products are cruelty-free… I need to be honest, there are some products I own that aren’t cruelty-free. But I know now and I don’t plan on buying the products anymore.

After researching and wishing there was a list of different products… I found this website. It’s owner is Suzi and she breaks it down for you. She has a list of products that are either vegan or cruelty-free. It was a one stop shopping ground for a list of products that did not harm animals. She seems to keep it pretty updated and even emails companies that seem a little suspicious or don’t blatantly say on their website if they’re cruelty-free.

Although I know I don’t live a 100% cruelty-free lifestyle and I’m definitely not vegan (sorry I love steak),

I’ve been reminded that there are animals out there being hurt. PETA got me on their website with a couple pictures of poor bunnies. No animal deserves to be treated like that. Even though I’m not a vegetarian or vegan, I do consciously try to buy cage-free eggs or free-range chicken. That does not mean a lot but it is an effort that I make. If I make an effort to make sure the animals and animal products I eat aren’t harmed before their killed… Why shouldn’t it be the same for beauty products? Although I know I don’t live a 100% cruelty-free lifestyle, I know that I’ll make an effort to check different products for the small bunny.

 

Helpful links if you want to know what companies are cruelty-free:

http://www.leapingbunny.org/guide/brands

http://features.peta.org/cruelty-free-company-search/index.aspx

http://www.choosecrueltyfree.org.au/cruelty-free-list-by-category/

2 thoughts on “Trying to be Cruelty-Free

Leave a Reply

